All Purpose BBQ Spice Rub

22 May

Well I worked on it, and worked, and worked, and then…Eureka! I finally came up with the proportions for my all-purpose BBQ spice rub. I have used it on ribs, turkey wings ( yes, people: a recipe will follow for this) and chicken breasts and thighs with a great deal of success. You can double or triple this recipe for large batches of ribs for a cookout or tailgating ( I wish someone would invite me to a tailgate party!).

You will need:

bowl for mixing spice

Ziploc bag, airtight container or shaker for storage

Ingredients

2 Tbl. brown sugar

1 Tbl. white sugar

1 Tbl. onion powder

1 Tbl. garlic powder

1 Tbl. smoked paprika

1 Tbl. seasoned salt

1 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper

1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper

1/4 tsp. Jamaican allspice

Mix together and store in a dark place until ready to use.

7 Responses to “All Purpose BBQ Spice Rub”

  1. R.J. Lebeau September 21, 2008 at 12:56 am #

    When I get this new job, I will have to try out these recipes.

    BTW, you have been honored with an award!

  2. culinarychick September 24, 2008 at 8:42 pm #

    Thanks again, R.J!

    I want to place it in my sidebar, and as soon as I figure out how, I will put it there.

    BTW, I hope you try out the recipes soon! I hope you get the job!

    l know; let’s claim it now!!

    cc

  3. Kim June 6, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Darn Diane! I wish I had had this before Danielle’s graduation celebration! I would have tried this on my chicken thighs. Oh well! Next time!! I will call and let you know when!

    Take care!
    Kim

    • culinarychick June 10, 2010 at 2:46 am #

      Woo Hoo!

      No problemo Kim!

      • Kim November 27, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

        Hey Diane!
        I’ve been meaning to let you know that I have tried this rub recipe twice now! Made some pulled pork in the crockpot. It was so delicious, you didn’t even need barbeque sauce with it unless you wanted that flavor as well! I didn’t have the Jamaican allspice so I had to sub some Caribbean jerk seasoning. Thank you for this delicious recipe!!

        Love you Girl!

  4. Kim November 27, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    P.S. Hope you had a wonderful holiday!!! :o)

    • culinarychick November 27, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

      I;m soo glad you enjoyed the rub!!!
      I had a great holiday ( so far); I’m going to a tree trimming party tonight, so my holiday weekend isn’t over yet. Tell everyone I said hello and I love you too!!!!
      xxoo, CC

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

