The ribs turned out great, but…..

1 Sep
photo courtesy of the BBQ Institute

photo courtesy of the BBQ Institute

my guest forgot to bring her camera to document my ribs, so here is a photo depiction, courtesy of the BBQ Institute. Since my guest forgot to bring the camera AND the beer, she is officially fired as my chef de cuisine, and demoted to scullery maid.

I will tell you that I prepared a rub* and cleaned the ribs of any membrane ( Thanks, Steve Raichlen!), and marinated the ribs in the rub overnight. I then prepared my Weber© kettle grill as per website directions. I then used a commercially packaged BBQ charcoal bag with pre-measured charcoal( that lasts 3-4 hours) and two cups of soaked mesquite chips wrapped in two foil  pouches.  It took a full four hours to smoke the ribs, which was good because the coals ran cold after four hours. Then, I used Stubb’s Barbeque sauce to coat the ribs during the last 20 minutes of cooking. I love this sauce because it isn’t cloyingly sweet or really thick. It is available on most market shelves ( if you can find the marinades, get them too). I served my ribs with greek-style potato salad, cucumber salad and grilled corn.

*I made this rub awhile ago with the purposes of preparing ribs, but have since forgot the proportions  of the spices. Whenever I perfect the rub recipe ( and I will), I will post it.

4 Responses to “The ribs turned out great, but…..”

  1. Liz September 5, 2008 at 2:56 pm #

    No beer! That def is a severe offense. I support the demoting to scullery maid.

  2. culinarychick September 9, 2008 at 1:58 am #

    So shall it be written…
    So shall it be done!

    CC

  3. baltogeek September 10, 2008 at 8:56 pm #

    Love you too cuz! 🙂

  4. culinarychick September 10, 2008 at 9:26 pm #

    I love you too; however, you are now designated the scullery maid until such time as you have redeemed yourself.

    Now scrub the deck, wench!!

    With all of the love in the world;
    Your cousin,
    The Culinary Chick

Leave a comment