Have you ever tried Poutine?

18 May

A relative informed me of her intent to vacation in Montreal in July.  She asked me if I wanted her to bring me a souvenir and before I could answer, she told me she couldn’t bring me any poutine.

“What is that?” I asked her, She replied that poutine is a version of french fries and gravy. But way better. Way.

photo courtesy of exurbanpedestrian.wordpress.com

photo courtesy of exurbanpedestrian.wordpress.com

Poutine is a dish made with french fries. The french fries are fresh not frozen, and are topped with fresh cheese curds ( ya hear that, Wisconsin?) and topped with a rich brown sauce ( maybe a demi-glace?).   You have to be legally dead not to be intrigued by the prospect of trying this.

I’m not dead. I’m dying to try this out, but I am on a restricted diet so it is up to you guys to try to make this at home.

Substitutions

Normally I wouldn’t advocate using any substitutions in a recipe, but you may have to in this case. I haven’t the foggiest idea where you could buy cheese curds; I used to work a bit with fresh mozzarella curd in restaurants, and apparently it is a regional ingredient. I would generally say if you cannot find fresh cheese curds, use fresh mozzarella cheese.

**If you are a poutine-eater, don’t get mad at my suggestion, suggest a better alternative**

Cut and fry your own fries, and  make a brown gravy to top the dish. If you have a picture of your finished product, send it on in and tell me how it tasted!

3 Responses to “Have you ever tried Poutine?”

  1. FredD. May 22, 2009 at 10:42 pm #

    As you know Culinary Chick my extended family is Canadian.Yes, I’ve had pouttine and it’s delicious. However, it definitely falls under foods that you eat in moderation…. FredD.

  2. Karen May 23, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    I have heard of poutine (by way of FredD’s extended family. Sounds interesting. Great site Culinary Chick :)!

    • culinarychick May 28, 2009 at 10:45 pm #

      My doctor would SCREAM at me if I even entertained the thought of eating that. But, one can dream…

Leave a Reply

