My laptop died ( off topic)

13 Jun

I hate techology.

I’m now sitting at my desktop posting this message, because my FARKING laptop died on me last Wednesday. UUUUGGGGGHHHHH!!!

In case you are new to this blog, I am disabled.  I’m not confined to a wheelchair, but my knees are so bad that it is a major effort to get around my house. I walk with a cane and pain is a part of my life now.  My laptop provided me with the convinience of blogging from my cucina with ease. Once I was planted in “Culinary Central”, I was cool.

Life had become a bit easier for me. Now, I have to do all my posting from upstairs. Bummer.

photo courtesy of absoluteraleigh.com

This photo sums up what I feel like right now. Do I have the money to replace the offensive beast. Yes. Will I spend the money? I don’t know.  All of my blog files are inside that asshat of a computer.  Damn Dell Inspiron 6400. I’m going to buy a powercord to see if that is the issue. If it is; then great. If not; oh well. I’ll hit a sale whenver that happens.

Wish a chick luck.

7 Responses to “My laptop died ( off topic)”

  1. Robster June 13, 2009 at 8:18 pm #

    Sorry to hear about your computer. I worry about my desktop computer because it’s also a Dell and I know they’re not exactly known to live long past their warranty date. I hope it’s only a power cord.

  2. culinarychick June 14, 2009 at 1:53 am #

    Damn muther-scratcher of a computer!

    I found an adapter on this particular website that was half the price of Dell’s ( $30 versus $69). A friend told me these laptops all have problems with the cords and internal power mechanisms, so thanks for the good juju.

    BTW- my Dell desktop rocks, and it’s six years old.
    ( Oh snap as I frantically search for a piece of wood to knock on!) 😉

  3. Dianne June 17, 2009 at 12:47 am #

    Sorry to hear about your computer. About a year ago I was walking down the stairs and tripped carrying my laptop. It was save the laptop or myself and I saved myself. Now my laptop is immobile because the screen hinges are broken. It has to stay in one place the screen can be propped up. It still works, but what fun is a laptop if you can’t take it with you? I keep hoping the laptop fairy will visit me, but so far she hasn’t. I wouldn’t mind if the camera fairy visited either since my DSLR died as well. No money for that either. Oh well.

  4. culinarychick June 20, 2009 at 1:10 am #

    Man,

    I really hate being a slave to technology. I apparently fried the bee-jeezus out of my internal power source from plugging the laptop into the wall socket without the use of a surge strip, according to the tecchie at my job.

    I don’t think he knows what he is talking about,

  5. AntomanElven September 15, 2009 at 11:00 am #

    yes,
    this happened to one of my five laptops.
    I had to open the laptop up and replace a lot of stuff, such as part 0f the motherboard.
    also the battery on mine died.

    luckily im a nerd with computers.
    YAY

    hope yours gets fixed as i like your foods

  6. AbsoluteRaleigh Laptop Repair October 20, 2009 at 6:10 pm #

    Hello! One of our customers emailed us to inform us of your predicament when they bumped into your blog and our image. Isn’t that funny?! The fist belongs to one of our technicians here- we just showed him your post and we all got a good laugh! He hasn’t seen the pic in years.

    Anyways, we see a lot of 6400 laptops in here. We will be happy to do a free diagnostic on it if you send it in. Often the power jack is bad which is something we fix for $149. Or it may be toast. If that were the case we could back up your data and/or buy the laptop for parts. As a final option you could stick the hard drive into an external enclosure to get at your data.

    Thanks!
    Len
    AbsoluteRaleigh.com

  7. voyance November 5, 2009 at 1:57 am #

    i really needed to tell you that your forum is awesome

    thank you

Leave a Reply

