Food rules from Michael Pollan

28 Jan

Meet Michael Pollan. This man is a journalist, author teacher and public speaker. He has a common-sense approach to how we should eat to remain healthy. I was first introduced to Mr. Pollan through a co-worker ( I work for a holistic internist and physical therapist), and became very interested in his philosophy of how to eat to live. I then was fortunate enough to catch him on Oprah and his segment was riveting to me.

In the segment on Oprah, Mr. Pollan discussed how food conglomerates have made mass production of the food we consume into a science, but questions if our food production practices are healthy for us. Take a look, and let me know what you think.

Michael Pollan’s website is http://www.michaelpollan.com

3 Responses to “Food rules from Michael Pollan”

  1. Dianne January 29, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    I’ve heard a lot about Mr. Pollan lately. Someone suggested one of his books to me. I like the idea of real, whole food. I think our diets in general leave a lot to be desired and explain most of our health ailments.

    • culinarychick January 29, 2010 at 7:04 pm #

      I just ordered The Omnivore’s Dilemna, In Defense of Food and Food Rules (?) from Amazon for $20 ( all three). I’ve always been an advocate of eating whole foods, Frankly for me it’s cheaper to cook fresh than buy packaged. Unfortunately, not everyone has the time to cook. I am becoming a big fan of this guy.

  2. Dianne February 1, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    I really need to read his books! I don’t think people realize how much cheaper it can be to not buy processed foods. The industry has so many people out there saying it’s the opposite way around.

Leave a Reply

