Easy-Bake Oven creator dies

23 Feb

This is a sad day for me because the inventor of the Easy- Bake oven has passed away at the age of 83.  Ronald Howes, a defense contractor invented the popular toy when he tried to come up with a safe version of  the chestnut roasters found on New York streets.  This man was instrumental in shaping the curiosities of many a future chef, including me.  You weren’t a proper young lady if you didn’t have one of these along with your play kitchen set, Barbie dolls

and your real china tea set (from China).  Our EBO looked like the one on the left, and I became jealous when models after this one resembled the real oven models that were popular at that time. I remember having problems baking with the oven. It didn’t quite cook evenly and I remember the cake mix that came with the set not being as good as the ones my mom made, so my sister and I improvised and asked my mom to save some cake batter for us when she made her next cake.

Things turned out better the next few times, and we got used to using the oven. Then my mom started letting me bake with her and I lost interest in the oven. My sister kept it for a while after that, and when my mom included my sister in our baking time, she too lost interest in the oven. I think we gave the oven to a younger cousin, but I never forgot the feeling I got when I made my very first Easy-Bake Oven cake. I was on top of the world.

Thank you, Mr. Howes for planting the seed in me.

Rest in Peace.

2 Responses to “Easy-Bake Oven creator dies”

  1. thelunchbreakphilanthropist February 23, 2010 at 1:29 am #

    Thank you for sharing with us. It was interesting to learn about the man behind such a beloved toy. Back in college I had a date centered around my childhood Easy Bake Oven. An hour of cooking later, we had a single chocolate chip cookie to share.

    • culinarychick February 23, 2010 at 3:32 am #

      Thank you for reading! It was a great surprise to me to learn he died; there was no mention of this in the news. The fact that you centered a date around this toy was romantic and original. Thank you for sharing that story with us!

      CC

Leave a Reply

