Gastronomic Monstrosity: Spleen Sandwich

5 May

I was perusing my second-favorite ( only to Facebook) website on Monday when I ran across this article written by The Atlantic’s own Tejal Rao. The article entitled, “Spleen, It’s What’s for Dinner” awoke me from an otherwise comatose day in front of the boob tube. You must read this article, if simply to digest my favorite line from this superbly-written hysterical account of the writer trying a spleen sandwich at the urging of her culinary curiosity:

“After a few bites I lift the bun to peek and the sandwich yawns an ancient, meaty stink.”

Sweet Jesus, What the eff????!!!!!

This was THE BEST article I’ve read in awhile.  I gotta tell you; I’m recharged again just reading Ms. Rao’s adept descriptions and wry sense of humor.  I’m going to try and read all of her  articles whenever I can.

Oh for those of you who need to see this in action, I’ve posted this just for you:

I’ve eaten haggis before, and lived to tell about it. I think I’m gonna pass on the spleen.

Enjoy!!

4 Responses to “Gastronomic Monstrosity: Spleen Sandwich”

  1. R.J. In The 619 May 6, 2010 at 4:08 am #

    I don’t have the courage to try that. Ewww!

    • culinarychick May 6, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

      I’ma sittin’ this one out too, RJ!!!

  2. Charlie Adler May 10, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    I’m a Haggis fan – when I was in Scotland a few years ago, our group decided to eat Haggis whenever served – 8 times – each time a bit different, sometimes stuffed in chicken, traditional was simply prepared with “Neeps and Tatties” (boiled turnips and potatoes) and once fried in little balls with a dipping sauce – it was great served every way!

    I like how Andrew cut the fat with lemon on the spleen sandwich, I’d probably use pickled onions – gotta try this one!

    • culinarychick May 10, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

      I tried Haggis at a Scottish Games festival sans neeps and tatties; It wasn’t bad, but I won’t seek it out again. I’ve just don’t have the stones to try a spleen sandwich. I’m just not that curious. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

